Fort Worth Lawyer Recognized for Advancing Legal Ethics in Texas – Fort Worth Inc.

2 minutes, 40 seconds Read

Steven Laird, name partner of Fort Worth-based Law Offices of Laird & McCloskey, has been selected the Lola Wright Foundation Award winner for 2024, the firm announced on Tuesday.

The award is a program of the Texas Bar Foundation.

The award, established in 1985, is presented in recognition of outstanding public service in advancing and enhancing legal ethics in Texas.

Laird has enjoyed a reputation for striving for the highest ethical principles, having been appointed to the Texas Supreme Court’s Professional Ethics Committee and its Task Force Committee on Advertising and Referral Fees in the past.

Citing his national reputation for courtroom success and high legal standards, the Tarrant County Bar Association honored Laird with its prestigious Blackstone Award in 2021, presented to an attorney whose career embodies ethical ideals, courage and service to the legal profession.

In 2023, Laird was named to Fort Worth Inc. magazine’s list of The 400, the influential people in Fort Worth, a recognition that honors Tarrant County residents who wield significant influence in the community.

Additionally, he is a recipient of the annual Jim D. Bowmer Professionalism Award from the Texas Bar College and the Professional Award from the Tarrant County Bar Association.

Laird earned his law degree from the South Texas College of Law in 1980, and an MBA from TCU in 1977. He has a bachelor’s in business from Texas Tech University, class of 1976.

Laird is also one of the few attorneys to be board certified in both personal injury trial law and civil trial law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, and designated as a specialist in both civil trial and truck accident law by the National Board of Trial Advocacy.

The Lola Wright Foundation supports children and youth, public health and human services, education, community development and arts and culture. Together they recognize top attorneys in the state who exhibit paramount legal and professional ethics.

The Texas Bar Foundation helps organizations enhance the rule of law, focusing on programs that relate to legal assistance for the underserved, ethics in the legal profession, encouragement of legal research and education of the third branch of government.

The Law Offices of Laird & McCloskey, at 1119 Pennsylvania Ave., is a firm of truck accident lawyers with more than 50 years of combined experience.

Past winners

1985 Judge Charles Barrow, Waco; Judge David Hittner, Houston

1986 Bob Snell, Lamesa

1987 No award presented

1988 William B. Hilgers, Austin

1989 Orrin Johnson, Harlingen

1990 Judge Eugene Cook, College Station

1991 Ronald Earle, Austin

1992 Frank Baker, Bay City

1993 John F. Sutton, San Angelo

1994 Dean Frank Newton, Houston

1995 Tom Watkins, Austin

1996 Judge Ewing Werlein, Houston

1997 Louise Raggio, Dallas

1998 James B. Sales, Houston

1999 James E. Coleman Jr., Dallas

2000 John L. Hill Jr., Houston

2001 Charles L. Smith, San Antonio

2002 James H. Holmes, III, Dallas

2003 Beryl P. Crowley, Austin

2004 Lloyd P. Lochridge, Austin

2005 Guy N. Harrison, Longview

2006 Richard C. Hile, Austin

2007 Justice Douglas S. Lang, Dallas

2008 Scott J. Atlas, Houston

2009 Linda Eads, Plano

2010 Susan Fortney, Lubbock

2011 Harry Reasoner, Houston

2012 Fred Hagans, Houston

2013 Claude Ducloux, Austin

2014 W. John Glancy, Dallas

2015 Charlie Wilson, Dallas

2016 John G. Browning, Dallas

2017 Cullen M. “Mike” Godfrey, College Station

2018 G. Allan Van Fleet, Houston, Galveston

2019 Roland K. Johnson, Fort Worth

2020 Kevin Dubose, Houston

2021 Robert A. Black, Beaumont

2022 Ben Selman, Waco

2023 E. Marie Jamison, Houston

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned in the title of this site

Similar Posts