Best Truck Accident Lawyers Fort Worth, TX Of 2024 – Forbes

2 minutes, 59 seconds Read
image

With over 30 million residents, Texas is the second-largest state in the country both by area and population. Texas has also built the country’s largest highway systems, so it’s inevitable that a large portion of truck accidents in the U.S. occur in Texas.

Texas Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations for filing a personal injury action in Texas is two years from the date of the accident or, where the personal injury action is brought on behalf of a person who died from their injuries, two years from their date of death. If you don’t bring your personal injury case within two years, you will not be able to recover for your injuries at all.

If your accident occurred as a result of the negligence of a government employee, you must submit a notice of your claim against the governmental agency no later than six months after the date of the accident, describing the damage or injury claimed; the time and place of the incident; and the incident itself.

TX Laws for Truck Drivers

Because trucks can cause such serious accidents, Texas has laws in place to establish safety guidelines.

  • Driving time: Truck drivers may only drive for 14 hours at a time, with 11 of those hours in interstate driving. Within the state, drivers can drive up to 12 hours.
  • English requirement: Texas requires interstate truck drivers to be able to communicate in English well enough to speak to the general public, to respond to police and safety, to keep records, and to read and understand road and traffic signs.
  • Records: Truck drivers are required to have registration papers with them that include details about the weight of the truck and how much it can haul. They also must comply with log requirements to track their drive times.
  • Background check: Trucking companies are required to do background checks on truck drivers including their experience, licensing, accidents, suspensions, and previous employment.

Meanwhile, under Texas state law, truck drivers operating in intrastate transportation cannot continue to drive after they have worked and/or driven for 70 hours in any consecutive seven-day period.

The Texas Department of Public Safety regulates licensing and safety issues regarding commercial motor vehicles. Some of those regulations include:

Carrying Extended Loads

Commercial trucks cannot carry a load that extends over three feet beyond the truck’s front or, except in certain circumstances, over four feet beyond the truck’s rear.

Identifying Fault for a Truck Crash

Texas is an at-fault state, which means that whoever is at fault for the accident must pay for damages that arise from the accident. This fault-based system is contrary to no-fault systems followed by other states, where truck drivers can seek compensation from their insurance companies regardless of who actually caused the accident.

However, Texas also uses a modified comparative fault rule, which limits an at-fault driver’s ability to recover damages. Specifically, under this rule, an at-fault driver cannot recover damages if their percentage of responsibility is more than 50%.

How Can an Attorney Help You?

An attorney can help you with your truck accident case by identifying all of the parties who were at fault and, as a result, get you the maximum compensation to which you’re entitled.

Truck accident attorneys have the resources and experience to collect relevant evidence connected to your truck accident case, assist you in understanding all of your legal rights arising from your truck accident case, and help you conduct an investigation into your truck accident in an effort to determine exactly what happened and effectively work as an advocate on your behalf.

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned in the title of this site

Similar Posts