Best Personal Injury Lawyers Phoenix, AZ 2024 – Forbes Advisor – Forbes

1 minute, 48 seconds Read

Phoenix is a popular vacation spot with its great weather and recreational activities. But sometimes that means accidents and injuries. So, it’s important to know the personal injury laws in Arizona.

Car Insurance Requirements in Phoenix

Arizona is a fault insurance state, meaning a driver injured in a car crash can sue the other driver for damages. So, drivers must carry liability insurance in case they injure another party. The minimum required limits in Arizona are:

  • $25,000 to cover bodily injury for one person and $50,000 for two more people
  • $20,000 property damage liability

Since you can pursue the other party to pay your medical bills, personal injury protection is not required. However, you may want to purchase it so your medical bills don’t overwhelm you. You may also wish to purchase uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage in case of an accident involving an uninsured driver.

Statute of Limitations in Phoenix

The statute of limitations is the deadline for filing a lawsuit in a personal injury action. In Arizona, that deadline is two years. So, if you sustain injuries in an accident on April 2, 2022, you have until April 2, 2024, to file a lawsuit.

Remember that this is a deadline for a lawsuit, not an insurance claim. Most insurance companies require you to report accidents within two to seven days. So, you want to file your insurance claim without delay.

Determining Fault in Phoenix, AZ

To collect in a personal injury claim, the other party must be at fault for your injuries. However, few cases are cut and dry. Many claims involve both parties being at fault in some way.

Arizona handles these claims under pure comparative fault. That means your compensation decreases by the percentage of fault you have in the accident. For example, a jury may determine that you were 20% at fault. So, if they award damages of $100,000, that amount decreases by 20%–giving you $80,000 in damages.

You could receive damages even if you were more at fault in an accident. Taking the example above, if you were 80% at fault, you would still get a recovery reduced by 80 percent. So, if a jury determined your damages were $100,000, your compensation decreases by 80% to $20,000.

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned in the title of this site

Similar Posts