Best Motorcycle Accident Lawyers Memphis, TN Of 2024 – Forbes

2 minutes, 25 seconds Read

Motorcyclists in Tennessee have to follow specific laws to ensure their safety and the safety of other motorists on Memphis roads.

Motorcycle License

In Tennessee, individuals aged 16 or older need a Class M license to operate a motorcycle. Acquiring this license requires passing a comprehensive exam that includes vision screening, a knowledge test and an on-cycle ability test. Those who are 15 years old need a special permit as well, after fulfilling the prerequisites set for a motorcycle license.

Motorcycle Insurance

All riders in Tennessee must maintain a valid auto insurance policy with the following minimum coverage limits:

– $25,000 for bodily injury coverage per person
– $50,000 for total bodily injury coverage per accident
– $25,000 for property damage per accident

This coverage pays for damages caused to others in case you are responsible for an accident, up to the policy limits. We recommend purchasing higher coverage limits to avoid significant out-of-pocket expenses since you’ll be liable to cover the overage amount.

Also, consider purchasing insurance policies that cover your own damages in an accident. For instance:

  • Comprehensive coverage can assist with repairs if your motorcycle is damaged due to natural disasters or incidents like theft or fire.
  • Collision coverage can help cover repair costs for your bike after most types of collisions, regardless of fault.
  • Medical payment coverage can address your medical expenses, regardless of fault—this type of coverage can be vital given the typically severe and costly nature of motorcycle injuries.

We also recommend exploring uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, which provides protection if you are involved in a collision with another motorist who either lacks insurance or does not carry sufficient insurance to cover your losses adequately.

Motorcycle Helmet Law

Motorcyclists are at a higher risk of suffering traumatic brain injuries in the event of an accident. Therefore, the state requires all riders and passengers to wear approved helmets. However, the following are exempted from this rule:

  • A person 18 years of age or older, riding in a parade, not exceeding 30 mph; or
  • A person 21 years of age or older leading a funeral procession or participating in a memorial ride under police escort or body escort detail are exempt from helmet requirements, provided they travel at speeds under 30 mph and the distance does not exceed 50 miles.

Motorcycle Headlight Law

Riders must have their headlights on at all times, regardless of the time of day. A motorcycle can have up to two front-facing headlamps and modulating headlights are permitted.

Special Equipment

Riders and passengers must wear safety glasses or a helmet with a face shield when operating or riding a motorcycle unless the vehicle is equipped with a windshield. It must also have at least one red tail light and one red stop light.

Further, motorcycles in Tennessee must have a muffler in constant operation to prevent excessive noise and avoid emitting annoying smoke. Using straight pipe exhausts is prohibited in the state to help minimize noise pollution.

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned in the title of this site

Similar Posts