Best Car Accident Lawyers San Antonio, TX (2024) – Forbes

3 minutes, 4 seconds Read
image

Texas is a huge state with millions of drivers and the highest speed limits in the country. It’s no surprise, then, that Texas also has plenty of car accidents.

Like all states, Texas has its own set of laws concerning accidents and insurance. Below are some of the most important, but keep in mind that an experienced San Antonio auto accident attorney can tell you a lot more about Texas laws and your situation.

Texas Statute of Limitations

Auto accidents are personal injury claims, and the statute of limitations on personal injury claims in Texas is two years.

This means that you must file a lawsuit within two years of an accident or you won’t be able to sue. There may be other rules that you have to comply with, however, depending on the circumstances of your case. For example, if an Austin city employee or vehicle was involved in your accident and you believe that the employee was at fault, you have to provide notice of your intention to sue within just 45 days.

So, even though you have two years, it’s essential that you consult with an attorney as soon as you can to make sure you have every opportunity to recover for your injuries and other damages.

Texas Laws for Car Drivers

Texas—like nearly every other state— requires drivers to carry insurance.

It’s important to keep in mind that these are the minimum requirements for each type of coverage. Having less coverage than this will prevent you from registering your car in Texas and could lead to being cited for being underinsured. However, just because your insurance will only pay for $25,000 in property damage doesn’t mean you can’t be held responsible if you cause more than that amount of property damage.

While requiring insurance is hardly unique to Texas, there are some unusual Texas driving laws worth knowing about:

  • Texas law requires all vehicles to have windshield wipers on public roads—but there’s no requirement for having a windshield.
  • Horses are required to have tail lights after dark in Texarkana, Texas.
  • Cell phone use is legal for Texas drivers who are over 18, but you cannot read, write or send a text message or email while driving.

Identifying Fault for Car Crash

Texas follows a fault-based system for car insurance, which requires the driver who causes an accident to be held liable for the damages. The insurance companies of the drivers involved in an accident determine fault based on evidence such as police reports and damage to the vehicles. The driver found at fault and their insurance are responsible for paying for the property damage and injuries resulting from the accident.

Under this system, anyone injured in an accident can seek compensation by filing a claim with the insurance company of the at-fault driver or by filing a lawsuit against them for damages.

How Can An Attorney Help You?

After a car accident, an experienced car accident lawyer in San Antonio can prove invaluable. An attorney can:

  • Handle communication with other parties and their insurance providers. By stepping in to communicate about the accident with all relevant parties, your attorney can let you focus on recovering from the crash while keeping you informed of only the most vital information.
  • Protect your rights. An attorney knows how to estimate your damages and assess a fair offer. They also know when certain actions must be taken to make sure you don’t miss deadlines for notifying insurance or—if necessary—filing a lawsuit.
  • Represent you. Your lawyer can speak for you in negotiations and can represent you in court if no acceptable settlement is offered.

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned in the title of this site

Similar Posts