Best Car Accident Lawyers Portland, OR 2024 – Forbes Advisor – Forbes

2 minutes, 13 seconds Read

Every state is different, which means that the rules and processes involved in filing a lawsuit will vary depending on where you had your car accident. In the state of Oregon, there are specific rules that can make or break your case’s success. Here are the main ones you should be aware of.

Oregon Statute of Limitations

A statute of limitations is the time you have to file a lawsuit to have a chance at receiving compensation. In Oregon, you have two years from the date you were injured to file a suit against the responsible party. After that deadline, your case will be dismissed.

Oregon Laws for Car Drivers

There are a variety of important laws drivers in Oregon should be aware of.

1.Follow the speed limits
Speed limits in Oregon vary based on the type of area or type of road:

  • Business districts and school zones: 20mph
  • Residential areas: 25mph
  • Interstate highways: 65 mph

2. Respect pedestrians
When at a crosswalk, pedestrians have the right of way. If you hit a pedestrian by not respecting this right, you are likely to have to pay a considerable sum in compensation.

3. Wear your seatbelt
Much like in many other states, in Oregon, seatbelts aren’t just a recommendation, they are required at all times by law.

4. Make sure you’re insured
In Oregon, liability coverage is required by law. This should cover $25,000 per person for bodily injury, and usually covers up to $50,000 in total per accident. You must have $20,000 coverage per crash for property damage as well as $15,000 in personal injury protection and $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage per person and $50,000 per accident.

Identifying Fault for a Car Crash

Oregon has what is called a modified comparative negligence system. This means that compensation is granted in reflection of how much an individual contributed to the cause of the accident. However, this only applies if their level of fault in the accident was less than 50%. If their fault is found to be more than 50%, they will be entitled to nothing.

How Can an Attorney Help You?

After a car accident, you may be tempted to handle your case yourself, especially if you think it is a minor car accident and a simple open-and-shut case. However, you only get one chance to seek compensation, so you want to give your case the best fighting chance possible. Portland car accident attorneys can help you:

  • Determine which party in the accident is at fault
  • Submit all necessary documents before the statute of limitations expires
  • Ensure that you have gathered all the relevant evidence for your case
  • Estimate the likelihood of your case’s success and the potential compensation amount that could be awarded or settled on

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned in the title of this site

Similar Posts