Best Car Accident Lawyers Houston, TX Of 2024 – Forbes Advisor – Forbes

2 minutes, 22 seconds Read
image

In the Austin, Texas area there’s a road that has a maximum speed limit of 85 miles per hour—the highest speed limit in the country.

Texas is the second most populous state in the nation, too. If you combine high speed limits and lots of drivers, you’ll usually get plenty of car accidents. If you’re unlucky enough to be involved in one, here’s a quick primer on the insurance and driving laws to know in the Lone Star state.

Texas Is a Fault-Based State

When there’s a car accident, sometimes it can be hard to figure out who’s to blame. In a few states—no-fault states—the responsibility doesn’t matter all that much. In these states, unless there are severe injuries or extremely costly property damage, each driver’s insurance covers their harm, and the fault is irrelevant.

Most states, however, are fault states—including Texas.

In these states, the insurance companies investigate accidents and assign fault to one of the involved drivers. According to the insurance companies, the driver who causes the accident will have to pay for it.

Of course, that driver will most likely have insurance, so the insurance company pays the cost.

Unlike in a no-fault state, where you are barred from suing except in extreme circumstances, in a fault-based state, anyone injured in an accident can file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company or file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver for damages.

Car Insurance Requirements in Texas

Texas requires drivers to carry a certain amount of liability insurance in order to drive. Liability insurance pays for damages to other cars and injuries to other people when you cause an accident. Damage to your car is covered by either collision or comprehensive insurance, and Texas does not require that you carry any.

It’s important to keep in mind that these are the minimum requirements for each type of coverage. Having less coverage than this will prevent you from being able to register your car in Texas and could lead to being cited for being underinsured. However, just because your insurance will only pay for $25,000 in property damage doesn’t mean you can’t be held responsible if you cause more than that amount of property damage.

You could cause an accident that totals a brand new SUV and be liable for twice the $25,000 minimum. In that circumstance, the SUV owner could sue you for the difference between your insurance coverage and their actual loss.

Personal Injury Protection in Texas

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is optional in Texas, but insurance companies in the state are required to offer it as an additional option on all policies. PIP covers medical expenses and lost wages for a driver and their passengers regardless of who was at fault in the accident.

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned in the title of this site

Similar Posts